Connect with us


Supreme Court to deliever vedict on governorship election appeals.



Today the Supreme Court is set to give judgements on five governorship election appeals.

The appeals are of Bauchi, Benue, lmo, Kano, Plateau and Sokoto States.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared governors Emeka Ihedioha of Imo, Bala Mohammed of Bauchi, Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto, Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano, Simon Lalong of Plateau and Samuel Ortom of Benue winners of governorship elections in their respective states.

The different appeals before the apex court were filed on different dates by the various aggrieved candidates.

The aggrieved candidates are challenging judgements of Election Tribunals and the Appeal Courts, which upheld the elections.

mooring their grievances on non-compliance with the Electoral Act, the issue of over-voting among other charges, the candidates want the apex court to declare them winners of the governorship elections.

A panel of seven-member of the Supreme Court led by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Tanko Mohammed, will deliver judgements on the cases on today

Details shortly….

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Copyright © 2017 Zox News Theme. Theme by MVP Themes, powered by WordPress. | Filmora 9